Banned Countries

Troika IO, Inc and Troika Media Group (collectively “Company” or "Troika") adheres to the rules and regulations set forth by the Treasury Department's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) who administers and enforces economic sanctions imposed by the United States against foreign countries.

The OFAC is a division of the US Department of the Treasury that administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security goals against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, those engaged in activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and other threats to the national security, foreign policy or economy of the United​ States.

Depending on the country, OFAC programs may freeze assets of embargoed countries, prohibit payment of funds to individuals and countries on the embargo list, or prohibit provision of services to countries subject to US sanctions.  These sanctions may require obtaining OFAC approval before conducting research or other activities in or involving the sanctioned country.

Some sanctions are more restrictive than others, and apply to the whole country, while others are specifically target certain individuals or entities within a country. Currently, sanctioned countries include the Balkans, Belarus, Burma, Cote D'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Iran, Iraq, Liberia, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, and Zimbabwe.

OFAC Sanctioned Countries

Sanctions regulations vary significantly by country. The following countries are subject to restrictions on certain types of activities, as indicated below.  This list is current as of May 30, 2021.

  • Balkans
  • Belarus
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of
  • Crimea region of Ukraine
  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Russia/Ukraine
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Syria
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

OFAC can also designate persons and entities, including persons and entities in the United States, as Specially Designated Nationals ("SDN list"). OFAC designates persons and entities as SDNs for narcotics trafficking, weapons proliferation and other reasons.